Cultural Partner

Principal Partner

Ajyal Film Festival 2019

Ajyal Film Festival Awards

Each of the three Ajyal Juries awards a Best Film prize to their favourite short and feature-length films, for a total of six awards. The directors of the winning films are awarded funding toward their next film, so jurors are empowered to support and promote future content that is relevant and important to them, in a proactive way.

Our youngest audiences vote for their favourite film as well in the Bariq programme, and a jury of regional industry professionals will decide the Best FIlm in the Made in Qatar section.

Ajyal 2018 Award Winners

Mohaq Best Feature
Zoo directed by Colin Mclvor (Ireland, UK/2017)

Mohaq Best Short
Gubgub directed by Nouf Al Sulaiti (Qatar/2018)

Hilal Best Feature
What Walaa Wants directed by Christy Garland (Canada, Denmark/2018)

Hilal Best Short
Killing Hope directed by Julia Retali and Natacha Grangeon (France /2017)

Bader Best Feature
Capharnaüm directed by Nadine Labaki (Lebanon/2018)

Bader Best Short
Transformation directed by Yousef Al Bagshi (Kuwait/2017)

Ajyal Audience Award
Capharnaüm directed by Nadine Labaki (Lebanon/2018)

Made in Qatar Winners

Abdulaziz Jassim Award for Best Performance
Fatima Al Nahdi – Gubgub

Best Narrative
Sh’hab directed by Amal Al-Muftah (Qatar/2018)

Best Documentary
Just Another Memory directed by Mariam Al-Dhubhani (Qatar/2018)

Jury Special Mention
Nasser Goes to Space directed by Mohamed Al Mahmeed (Qatar/2018)